FASHION/ 3 reasons why Bardot tops are the one 

I’m a long time lover of the bardot/cold shoulder style – as well as it being so on trend right now there are some clear reasons it’s a staple in my wardrobe. Here’s why:

1-They’re super flattering 

Bardot tops show off (what I think is) a really feminine area, the decolatege and shoulders, which looks sexy without being OTT. For those like me who may not always like to flash the upper arm area, this style skims right over it. For those (also like me) who may be a bit self conscious of the tummy area, you’re in luck: it usually skims right over that too!


Denim bardot, Boohoo

I lived in this top last summer, and so far have continued to do so this year. It’s an interesting way to do the double denim look if you style it with a pair of skinny jeans (black or whit, depending on the weather and your mood)

Gingham and red embroidered bardot, New Look

This is the newest in my collection and combines my love for monochrome with an on-trend print and pop of colour. I wore this on a casual night out with black Capri jeans, mules and a bright red lip and felt so cute and fleeky.
2- they’re ridiculously easy to throw on and look great for most occasions 

Daytime or evening, casual or dressy, the bardot style can work pretty much any way you want to wear it. 

Frill sleeve white Bardot Boohoo 

This is another top I lived in last summer (and have just picked up in black) which is a pretty similar style to the denim one. Paired with ripped knee skinniest and a top knot, this is a more casual look I wore on holiday in Barcelona.

Baby blue bardot dress, LOVE (similar here)

And this is an outfit I wore to a casual summer wedding. Skater dresses are my jam because of where they fit and flare, so it still skimmed over most of my least favourite parts (I was slimmer then so didn’t feel quite as unhappy about my stomach area). I’ve also dressed this down with converse and a chunky necklace for an afternoon at the pub, so just as versatile as atop!

3- They help keep you cool in warm weather (but you’ll still look HAWT)

The off shoulder/less fitting combo usually means some much needed air flow when the temperature heats up, so you’re less likely to become a sweaty mess. Pick your fabric wisely though!Denim Bardot dress, Miss Pap

I wore this as a dress whilst on holiday – sightseeing during the day in sliders and a fedora, dinner in the evenings in barely there heels and a cute fluffy bag. It’s quite short so I didn’t feel quite as comfortable wearing it with bare legs in the uk, so I style it with white skinny jeans underneath.

Tie dye bardot (part of a coordinate), Miss Pap. Now sold out.

I wore a bardot top almost every evening during my Marbella holiday to stay cool in the summer heat (as well as hide my food baby – I ate a LOT of paella and tapas that week!) as well as staying stylish. Having the confidence in my clothing shape meant I felt able to experiment with patterns a little – I don’t think I would have tried tie dye under any other circumstance!

Some of my other faves… 

Floral long sleeved bardot, Topshop (I haven’t managed to get a good shot of me in this one yet)

Blue striped bell sleeve bardot, New Look. There’s something about a blue stripe top that really elevates a casual look, plus the on trend bell sleeves will keep you cool

Gingham floral cold shoulder top, AX Paris. This is a funkier way to do florals this season, the subtle frill on the sleeves still makes it feel girly and pretty.
    Bardot frill dress, ASOS                   daaaaamn, this dress is on fuego!! This colour is beautiful for standing out in the sunshine, but the shape is still really feminine and flattering which is perfect for me. I can see this being dressed up or down really easily *adds to ASOS basket* 

Are you as obsessed with Bardot as I am, show me what styles/prints you’re living for!

Stay stylish,

J 😘xx

1 thought on “FASHION/ 3 reasons why Bardot tops are the one ”

Leave a Reply

