FASHION & BEAUTY/ Oxford Street Haul (June 2017)

I recently made a flying visit to London and managed to make a pit stop at my happy place, aka Oxford Street (well, it was pay week…) so thought I’d share what I picked up.

Note: you’ll notice a lot of the pictures aren’t taken by me – this was down to a combo of poor lighting, using items so they didn’t look ‘fresh’ and impatience at wanting to get this post up!

Stripe lace up crop top, Topshop 

I already owned this top in black and use it as a layering piece over t-shirts, so thought it would be nice to pick up this version too. I may well use this an excuse to wear all black so this can be the talking point.

Snake print lace up choker, River Island 

This was an impulse buy as I though it was so cool and sexy, I’m picturing it with a simple jeans/ white tee combo to really let it stand out. I can’t say I’m not a bit put out that it’s now reduced to a bargain £3 less than week after buying it though!

French slogan tee, Topshop

This one came straight out of the bag, hence the creases! As well as French slogans being so en vogue right now, this kind of reminds me of the Gucci tee everyone is wearing right now even though it doesn’t look much like it! I just thought it would be really nice to wear for weekend downtime or casual evenings out (when properly ironed of course)

White peplum tee, River Island

Not gonna lie – I bought this purely because I thought it would disguise my stomach rolls a little bit! I had to size up as the arm holes were a little tight, so it definitely doesn’t cling in any unsightly places.

MAC 217 blending brush 

I finally have that brush that everyone else seems to own! Earlier in the day it was recommended that brushes were better for applying concealer than a sponge, so I thought I’d start with the best and see if it was true. So far it has been pretty good!

NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturiser, Finland and  Radiant Creamy Concealer, Creme Brûlée 
It was the  very nice sales assistant at the NARS counter in Selfridges who clued me up on applying conceleaer (as well applying base with your hands as it warms up the product and makes it more blendable) as well as fixing my makeup after my face had slid in central London humidity! I’ve wanted to try this moisturiser for a while, I sometimes feel a bit clogged wearing foundation but want my skins to look a bit fresher sometimes so this felt like a good alternative. This also has an spf in it so is going to be perfect for my summer trip to NYC.

NYXTinted Brow Mascara, Brunette and Tame and Frame Tinted Brow Pomade, Brunette 

You’ll know from my recent favourites post that the pomade is a re-purchase, my thoughts on this will be in my May favourites post. The tinted mascara was a bit of an impulse buy as I like my brows to stay in place. I used this the other day alone and it can also smooth gaps of colour onto the brow area, however it’s a bit tricky to get a really good brow shape when using it like that.

NYX Prismatic eyeshadow singles, Rose Dust and Glass Slipper.

I knew these were really good already as I purchased the ‘Liquid Gold’ shade a few months back and they have a good good colour payoff.

Rose Dust is a dark rose gold, almost metallic brick red shade that looks really nice over the full lid or as part of a pink eye look around the outer eye. Glass Slipper is a bit more translucent and ‘galactic’ and looks really cool for summer. As I have green eyes I like wearing greeny shades to highlight them more.

Topshop eyeshadow mono, Beauty Queen 

The colour of the this is way more pink than it looks in these pictures. Sadly the colour payoff isn’t brilliant (though a bit of moisture on the brush improves this a little) but it has potential to create a nice base and brow highlight.

Topshop Smoke Stick, Realm and Underdog 

This is a really luminous shade that looks gorge in the eye corners and under the brow for a full on highlight.

This is a really nice subtle colour for daytime or as part of a smoky eye look. The creamy consistency is really bluildable and blendable so really easy to use.

Let me know if you’ve tried any of these products and what you thought, or if there any more I should look to try.

Stay stylish,

J 😘xx

1 thought on “FASHION & BEAUTY/ Oxford Street Haul (June 2017)”

Leave a Reply

