FOOD/ #HullFoodie …Yates

When the idea of #HullFoodie was first born, the intention was to showcase local eateries that were great places to eat/drink/be happy in Hull. I had thought that this would mean standalone cafes, bars and restaurants that could only be visited in my city. Whereas I would say that is still an important aim of the project, I think THE most important thing is to show support for businesses that want to support Hull, which sometimes may include bigger oraganisations. This is one of those times.*this pic is the right way up
I spent a lot of my my formative party years in Yates, but when I came home from working abroad it had closed and I was gutted. No more pub lunches with the girls, no more cheeky after work drinks, no more cheeky cocktails to signal the start of a great night out. Sob.

When I heard on the #hull grapevine it was making a comeback my ears perked up like a meerkat. When I got a message asking if I’d like to go to the opening, I felt like my excited teenage self again…true story! And I’m super pleased that my inner teen wasn’t disappointed.

“Are you hungry, would you like some canapés?” “Yes, that would be lovely thank you”These are my kinda canapés! Southern chicken wraps, burgers, fish and chips, filled Yorkshire pud and juicy sausage, there wasn’t a single thing I didn’t enjoy and wouldn’t consider ordering. I know people who can be quite snobby and critical when it comes to chain pub food, I’ve been amongst them on occasions admittedly, but everything we ate was full of flavour and good quality.

If that wasn’t yummy enough, we decided that we should try some of the gourmet fries…ya know, for research.This is comfort food heaven in a bowl! 

This is the perfect place to eat if you’re having a well deserved catch up with friends, Sunday brunch, maybe a bit sore from the night before! Haha. It’s pretty close to most of the city’s entertainment venues so I’d definitely stop in for a bite to eat before a gig or cinema date with Mr Alice. As yummy as the food is, for me this isn’t stuff  I could eat all the time as I gain weight really easily. You can sneak a peek at the full menu here.​Did I mentioned they also do cocktail making classes? Apparently, being a master cocktail making bartender was something of a childhood ambition of Courtney’s, so I made her dreams come true by shoving her behind the bar informing the barman “she’ll make them with you. er, please.”After that face of concentration we got to enjoy the fruits of her labour – look how fab they are!

One of the best thing about Yates is that they offer great deals on cocktails without compromising on quality. It’s a great way to enjoy your fave tipple without spending a bomb and compromising on a cool atmosphere. Who doesn’t want that?

Thanks for reading, sorry if you’re hungry now!

Stay stylish,

J 😘xx

Leave a Reply

