FASHION/ What we wear, how we feel and what it says 

This week I read an interesting article in The Guardian (yup that’s right, I’m THAT well read now I’m a graduate!) that says it take a potential client a mere 7 seconds to determine whether someone looks professional and approachable- Workplace dress codes are ultimately a form of branding because “taking pride in your appearance proves you care about your career.”

This happens to be something I really believe in – as shallow as it may sound, you can’t see a person’s competence or a great personality across a crowded room, but you can see how they’ve chosen to present themselves to the outside world. Whether we like it or not, a lot of us do give people’s look a once over (some more subtly than others) so this is first judgement made about you.

With this in mind I thought I’d really put my own beliefs to the test- document everything I wear during the working week, how I felt and what I wanted it to say. *FYI: These selfies are rubbish because it’s not dark when I leave the house so there’s no natural light!*

Monday   Vibe: It’s Monday and I want to feel cool and wear my fave colour palette. I felt comfortable & stylish, leading to a productive start to the working week.

Hat Dorothy Perkins, similar here/ Top Primark/ Sleeveless Jacket In the Style/ Jeggings /Boots New Look

Tuesday   Vibe: Sassy and autumnal. 

Dress Next/ Boots Solewish

Wednesday   Vibe: it’s hump day and I’ve run out of fash steam a bit already! I felt simple yet professional. I got a little boost around lunchtime when a colleague from another office stopped me and said “you look nice; but then you always do” ahhh

Roll Neck New Look/ Trousers Pretty Little Thing/ Shoe Boots Dorothy Perkins

Thursday   Vibe: back to sass; last day of the working week (FYI- the roll neck is grey, pinafore is black with hot ounk/white check). I felt a bit chilly without tights, to be honest! But kinda Clueless ‘n cute; the girl in the office next door to me said she loved the look.

Roll Neck New Look/ Pinafore Dorothy Perkins (sold out online, other designs here)/ Boots, Sole Wish as before

Friday   Vibe: the weekend has started and I want to be all kinds of cosy. I felt cosy and relaxed- add in a lovely cup of tea and daytime TV followed by coffee and shopping with Mama Alice and I’d nailed it!

Jumper Top Shop (sold out in Pink, shop it in mint here)/ Jeans Top Shop/ Shoe Boots Primark

 Saturday  Vibe: I want to go casual, but like sassy casual, because I’m going out into town and people I know may see me!

Bodysuit Top Shop/Jeans Top Shop/ Boots New Look as before/ Coat Missguided

Result? I’m very aware of what I’m wearing and how I want it to make me feel, which definitely impacts on how well my day can go. But then, I knew that already- if you feel you look on the outside, it can be hugely impactful to the stuff that’s happening on the inside. And, as someone who sometimes doesn’t have the most pleasant things going on inside, that’s a really important tool to have. Call it vain, self absorbed, whatever you want, it’s my armour and I own that.

Thanks for reading, Stay Stylish 

J 😘xx

1 thought on “FASHION/ What we wear, how we feel and what it says ”

Leave a Reply

