BEAUTY / Brown. Cocoa Brown.

As a pale skinned gal I’m occasionally partial to wanting a cheeky #sunkissed glow, it just makes me feel nicer in certain clothes. However I haven’t dared to #tan  for the last couple of years as I had had a very unfortunate run of some of the WORST spray tans a person could have…they were bad….one tan was so bad that the salon refused to claim rsponsibolity and blocked me from their social media so I couldn’t warn their other clients!

I was introduced to Cocoa Brown products by the #HullBloggers and after speaking to their team about my tanning disasters they suggested I give home #tanning a go to see if I could do a better job myself. Challenge accepted! 

 

BEFORE

*Warning: I have no make up in these shots. I’m rubbish at selfies. I am also well aware that I am not skinny or toned*  

  

 

Step 1 – EXFOLIATION   

I used the Tough Stuff exfoliator sachet (full sized bottle is pictured) after a vigorous body brush on my body (mainly my dry areas like ankles and elbows). It’s literally the best exfoliator I’ve ever used – I felt sooooooo soft, warm and tingly all over my skin afterwards! And I felt sooo relaxed, which is always appreciated in the midst of final semester uni stress.

Step 2 – TAN APPLICATION    

I used the 1 Hour Tan Mousse for ease and speed, which I applied with the Pink Tanning Mitt . I was promised it’d go on with a guide colour so I could see where Id applied it and that it wouldn’t smell of fake tan, at this stage stage that was exactly true! I found it super easy to apply but had to get Mr Alice to do my back half as I couldn’t quite reach. 

Step 3 – DEVELOPMENT

Thee was no way I was taking pics of me in this stage, sorry! I decided to start with a lighter colour so left the tan on for the hour (you can leave it on up to 3 if you want). It started to smell a teeny bit tan like towards the end but the smell was still overall really girly and nice.

AFTER

*Warning- see previous warning about no make up/jelly belly etc*

  

The colour has come out light and subtle which is great for me! I had a slight issue with my hands as I’d managed to put too much on my fingers, but a quick buff with more Tough Stuff sorted the right out.

Step 4 – ENHANCEMENT / MAINTANENCE  

Because I went for a lighter colour I thought I’d attempt to to up on my legs with this gradual tanner. It goes on like a really thick moisturiser and has the same guide colour as the tan has which should help with application. However, me being, I got a bit heavy handed around my feet and they got a little bit too stained! That just means I need more practice.

VERDICT

Good! I can tan at home for a fraction of the price with better results, and I’ve discovered am exfoliator that is going to become my go to beauty product and saviour for getting gorgeously soft summer skin. I haven’t tried the Gentle Bronze yet but it’s going to be great to keep my colour looking fresh as it fades I suspect. But I’m already looking forward to trying out even more products – next on my list is the Lovely Legs spray now we’re approaching skirt weather.

Cocoa Brown products are now on sale in the UK at Superdrug and Tesco, and the company are also in the process of expanding into the U.S. We’ll all be Cocoa bronzed before we know it!

Have you ever tried Cocoa Brown products? And what are your top home tanning tips?

Stay Stylish (and bronzed)

J 😘xx

6 thoughts on “BEAUTY / Brown. Cocoa Brown.”

Leave a Reply

