FASHION/ Styling the City of Culture

I always try to be supportive of local businesses/ventures when I can – it’s so great to see your community thrive and find its own unique niche within the UK. This week, the good city of Hull have been kind enough to return the favour! I was lucky enough to feature in an article about bloggers for the Hull Daily Mail’s Femail section speaking about my passion for what I do and where I hope it may lead me. Typically, I had far too much to say for myself in the interview stages (shocking I know) but I think Danni who wrote the article has done a fabulous job of getting everything in and has been a joy to work with for the past few weeks.

I also discovered that I’m not alone in the Hull blogging scene as I originally thought…it seems there’s a small army of us here on the Humber! Really pleased to find this out and get to know everyone soon (I need to point out that I included the shot of the front page as there’s a teeny pic of me in the top right)

IMG_7124.JPG

IMG_7125.JPG

IMG_6893.JPG

IMG_6895.JPG

IMG_6897.JPG

IMG_6898.JPG

IMG_7139.JPG

IMG_6896.JPG

IMG_6894.JPG
Photos courtesy of the Hull Daily Mail (the one of the lips is a selfie by me)

Did you spot Curious Alice in one of the pics making her press debut? This shoot took place in some quirky and beautiful locations around Hull’s Old Town. I totally forgot this little street even existed – the coloured houses look like they belong in Notting Hill or something! Will definitely be shooting there again soon.

This dress is super slinky feeling and fits really well – I accessorised with a skinny belt but the elasticated waist does the work for you. I had some static/windy weather issues on the day though so walking was a big tricky (obviously there were builders around, not doing any work, to witness my struggle) I should’ve given it a wash first. The jacket you’ll recognise from my post on Tuesday, it’s pure coincidence that it’s ended up on here twice in the same week but it shows I wasn’t joking when I said I wear it to death! The quilted biker boots I wore to keep with the tougher vibe of the jacket, I’m wearing this dress to a hen do at the weekend so I’ll be wearing less sensible footwear (pics will probably be on my social media pages if you fancy sneaking a peek). My lippy is an exact match to the dress – yes it was on purpose, no I’m not sorry!

Jacket – House of CB (also in beige)
Dress – ILWF sold out in purple, different colours available here http://www.inlovewithfashion.com/search.php?search_query=Long+sleeve+wrap+dress and same colour/different style here http://www.inlovewithfashion.com/products/LOVE-Magenta-Pleated-Cold-Shoulder-Dress.html

Boots – Matalan sold out, new season style here http://www.matalan.co.uk/womens/footwear/boots/s2574226/quilted-biker-boot
Bag – River Island http://www.riverisland.com/women/bags–purses/shoulder-bags/Black-fold-over-slouch-bag-648723 also available in more colours and mini
Lip Colour – Collection Work That Colour Lip Butter in Perfect Plum http://www.superdrug.com/Collection/Collection-Work-The-Colour-Lip-Butter/p/256200#.VEggad14WrU

So hopefully now the Hull City of Culture bigwigs will take notice and realise that fashion/style is every bit a part of our city’s culture as the other areas they’re promoting…come on guys! Feel free to tweet @2017Hull and tell them for us too.

Stay Stylish

J 😘 xx

7 thoughts on “FASHION/ Styling the City of Culture”

Leave a Reply

