FASHION/ Fashion Week Trends with Matalan (Part 1)

IMG_5900.PNG

Yesterday I had the had the pleasure of spending the afternoon shooting a fashion piece for Matalan’s YouTube channel. I’ve grown up shopping at/wearing Matalan clothes so I was super excited to take part, and I had a ball! There were literally soooooo many fab things that I wanted (correction, that I WILL be getting more of in a follow up expedition) but I managed to pick a few things that also embrace some of my favourite trends from London Fashion Week (as I wrote about in my last post), which means you can buy them now and wear them all the way through to next summer….marvellous!

Look 1 – Print and Check

IMG_5833.JPG

IMG_5834.JPG

IMG_5835.JPG

IMG_5841.JPG

IMG_5843.JPG

We saw on the runway that any print goes! In theory, tartan and animal print shouldn’t work…but I think because the animal print is quite subtle that in this case it completely does. Plus, it combines two of my fave prints together! The bright colours of the check keep it cute and fun so I pared it with this brogues to kind of channel a bit of a quirky Taylor Swift vibe (brogues were also championed on the Giles Deacon runway) I’m quite a fan of the loose fit shift so it’s nice that I can carry on embracing the shape for the next season – for those of who prefer something more figure hugging you could experiment by laying it under a longline cardigan/kimono and then belting it them both around the middle, it would possibly give the dress more of a cool ‘paper bag’ middle than a smooth line. But hey, half the fun of fashion is playing about with it to suit your style right? Make the fashion fit YOU!

Dress – £16
Brogues – £12

Look 2 – Chiffon

IMG_5864.JPG

There were more pictures of this look but I was a bit fidgety and they ended up really blurry! As well as chiffon this top also embraces the check/print trends so it’s a triple threat. It’s a chiffon panel just at the front, because the pattern is quite busy it’s fine to just wear on its own (it’s only when you get really close that you see a hint of bra). I teamed it with black jeggings and my new fave flatties (I’m sure you’ll be seeing more of them later) to keep it more autumnal and casual. This would also look really great styled for the evening with a colour pop heel, Matalan literally have them in ever colour right now, or perhaps for the really brave a colour pop trouser? If anyone does this, I need to see the results!

Top – £14
Jeggings – £14
Shoes – £10

Pictures taking in the fitting rooms at the Hull central Matalan store by the lovely Lissa. Big thanks to Helen, Gemma and their team in the store who were so kind and helpful to us, I will be back SOON!

I have another 2 looks to share in part 2 – Sports Luxe and Clueless Cute so look out for those. Make sure you get in touch with any of these pieces you buy and how you’re wearing them or your fabulous Matalan buys:

Twitter: @IamJennyChat
Instagram: thisisjennychat

Stay Stylish

J 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

